Quinoa porridge: perfect for spring

Quinoa porridge: perfect for spring

You might know by now that I love quinoa. It’s packed with protein, gluten free & so easy to cook perfectly. My secrets to cooking it perfectly are to soak it prior to cooking. Not only does it rinse the grain well, but it removes the bitter taste that can otherwise occur. I use a 1:1.5 ratio of quinoa to water.

Today I made a porridge- mainly to celebrate my I quit sugar accomplishment! I will blog about this tomorrow. I just love the creaminess of this porridge & how the fruit balances the sweetness so well. I used strawberries as I love them, and with the heat from the porridge they soften & go really gooey- yum! Also they are super low in fructose so healthy for your insides!

If you prepare the quinoa in a batch the night before you’re laughing with this. Just add the ingredients the next day & heat up for a few minutes. Otherwise you will need to cook 1/4 cup of quinoa in water.

Add:
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 cup coconut milk (I love coco quench)
Handful of chopped nuts (I used almonds)
1 tbsp desiccated coconut
Pinch of vanilla powder (or 1/2 tsp vanilla paste)

Mix & heat on the stove or in the microwave until hot. The quinoa will quickly soak up all the coconut milk so don’t drain it!

Add 4 strawberries, chopped, more nuts & a few tsp of coconut.

Enjoy this xxx

2 comments

Leave a comment